Printer-friendly > Irving K. Barber School > People > Faculty Members > Statistics Faculty

Statistics Faculty


Jeff AndrewsJohn Braun / Matt DavidsonSylvia Esterby / Paramjit Gill / Lengyi Han / Jason Loeppky / Joan Hu / Irene Vrbik


JEFF ANDREWS
Assistant Professor, STATISTICS

WEBSITE

jeff.andrews@ubc.ca

SCI 111
250.807.9931

Jeff Andrews 2PhD University of Guelph

RESEARCH:
 Clustering and classification via mixture models, with applications to bioinformatics.

TEACHING: Statistics, Data Science.

JOHN BRAUN
Professor, STATISTICS

WEBSITE

john.braun@ubc.ca
SCI 388
250.807.8032

John Braun 2PhD University of Western Ontario

RESEARCH: Computational statistics, with applications to fire science; statistical process control; statistical education.

TEACHING:
 Statistics.
MATT DAVISON
Affiliate Professor, STATISTICS

WEBSITE

mdavison@uwo.ca

Matt DavisonPhD University of Western Ontario

RESEARCH: Energy finance, options pricing, portfolio optimization, Real options (with application inDefense and Medicine).

SYLVIA ESTERBY
Associate Professor Emeritus, STATISTICS

sylvia.esterby@ubc.ca
ASC 347
250.807.9536

Dr. Sylvia EsterbyPhD University of Waterloo


RESEARCH:
Environmetrics and ecological statistics.

PARAMJIT GILL
Associate Professor, STATISTICS

WEBSITE

paramjit.gill@ubc.ca
SCI 112
250.807.9534

Parmajit GillPhD Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur

RESEARCH: Sports analytics; statistical stylometry; social networks models.

LENGYI HAN
Sessional Instructor, STATISTICS

lengyi.han@ubc.ca
ASC 452
250.807.8879

No Photo AvailablePhD Western University 

RESEARCH: 

TEACHING:

JOAN HU
Affiliate Professor, STATISTICS

WEBSITE

joanh@stat.sfu.ca

Joan Hu PhD University of Waterloo

RESEARCH: Event history data, longitudinal data with latent classes, marked point processes with a spatial correlation.

JASON LOEPPKY
Associate Professor, STATISTICS

WEBSITE

jason.loeppky@ubc.ca
ASC 348
250.807.8795

Jason Loeppkyv2PhD Simon Fraser University

RESEARCH: Design and analysis of experiments for both physical processes and computer based simulation models; applications include environmental and industrial statistics.

TEACHING: Statistics.

IRENE VRBIK
Instructor, STATISTICS

WEBSITE

irene.vrbik@ubc.ca
SCI 393
250.807.8872

Irene Vrbik PhD University of Guelph

RESEARCH: Mixture models, supervised and unsupervised learning, computational statistics, biostatistics.

TEACHING: Statistics, data science.

Last reviewed shim8/14/2014 4:54:40 PM