General Science - Bachelor of Science

Calendar >>

The General Science degree program recognizes five designated subject areas of concentration. These are:

  • Chemistry (CHEM)
  • Earth and Environmental Sciences (EESc) (includes certain courses in Geography)
  • Life Science (LFSC) (Includes courses in Biochemistry, Biology and Microbiology)
  • Mathematical Sciences (MASC) (Includes courses in Computer Science, Mathematics and Statistics)
  • Physics (PHYS)

To qualify for the general BSc degree a student must complete all of the Faculty Requirements described above. To satisfy the requirement of at least 36 credits of Science courses numbered 300 and above, the student may select one of two routes within the General Science degree program:

Option A: Students are required to complete 18 credits of science courses numbered 300 or higher in each of any two subject areas listed above.

Option B: Students are required to include at least 36 credits in science numbered 300 or higher of which at least 18 credits must be in one subject area of concentration as listed above. At least six credits must be in a second area, and at least six credits must be in a third area.

Courses selected must be acceptable for the major BSc programs in the specific areas of concentration.

Students who successfully complete the BSc General Science degree program will have the area or areas of concentration recorded on their transcript.

Last reviewed shim8/1/2014 4:47:54 PM